It’s About Time : The New SMPTE Synchronization Standard

Free Standards Update Webcast - This Thursday!

This webcast will examine new ways of synchronizing systems, in the context of legacy, hybrid, and future all-IP infrastructures. Beginning with an overview of PTP (Precision Time Protocol), you will learn how the ST 2059 Standard uses this foundation to establish deterministic relationships between global real-time and media signals, including:

  • How requirements for synchronization are met by equipment using PTP instead of legacy reference signals, and delve into how timecode is virtualized
  • Product design consideration for hybrid environments, with a focus on how a common reference subsystem can use either form of reference, enabling equipment which can evolve with user requirements
  • How this new method can be applied to live IP infrastructures and how ST 2059 pulls legacy and new systems together
  • System design considerations with a focus on ways to use technology islands in a hybridised architecture

Thursday, 5 May 2016

1:00 PM EDT / 10:00 AM PDT / 17:00 UTC / 18:00 BST

Register here.

You might also like...

Building An IP Studio: Connecting Cameras - Part 2 - Session Description Protocols

IP is incredibly versatile. It’s data payload agnostic and multiple transport streams have the capability to transport it over many different types of networks. However, this versatility provides many challenges, especially when sending video and audio over networks.

IP Security For Broadcasters: Part 11 - EBU R143 Security Recommendations

EBU R143 formalizes security practices for both broadcasters and vendors. This comprehensive list should be at the forefront of every broadcaster’s and vendor’s thoughts when designing and implementing IP media facilities.

Broadcast Audio System Design: Part 2 – The Mixing Console

We continue our series on things to consider when designing broadcast audio systems with the beating heart of all things audio – the mixing console.

REMI On A Budget - A Remote Switching Paradigm Shift

Remote Integration Model (REMI) production is more than remote cameras. It’s a new way of thinking and working. This tale of trying to implement a REMI production model within tight financial constraints highlights some of the operational challenges involved.

Machine Learning For Broadcasters: Part 2 - Applications

In part one of this series, we looked at why machine learning, with particular emphasis on neural networks, is different to traditional methods of statistical based classification and prediction. In this article, we investigate some of the applications specific for…